national <mark>allergy</mark> strategy







children's research institute
institute

6 May 2022

Statement in response to federal government funding to improve the care of Australians with allergic disease – Budget 2022

On behalf of Australians living with allergic diseases, the National Allergy Strategy, a partnership between the Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy (ASCIA) and Allergy & Anaphylaxis Australia (A&AA), and the Centre for Food & Allergy Research (CFAR), would like to thank the Federal Government for the \$26.9 million investment into allergy prevention and management announced as part of the Federal Government's 2022 budget, that was announced on 29 March 2022. This funding is in response to the 2019 bipartisan Parliamentary Inquiry into Allergies and Anaphylaxis, and the 24 recommendations in the *Walking the allergy tightrope* report, which highlighted the critical need for further investment to address this continuing public health challenge.

This investment will provide support to:

- Enable the National Allergy Strategy to transition into the National Allergy Council (NAC), to develop and implement programs to increase access to care and provide education and support for health professionals, consumers and the community.
- Fund evidence-based education and support programs that are developed and implemented by the ASCIA and A&AA, working as a partnership in the National Allergy Council.
- Expand the CFAR at the Murdoch Children's Research Institute into the National Allergy Centre of Excellence, to increase and coordinate research throughout Australia on food allergies, as well as drug, vaccine, insect, and pollen allergies.

Establishing a **National Allergy Council** is a natural progression of the highly valued and successful National Allergy Strategy. The National Allergy Council will continue to be a partnership between the ASCIA and A&AA, the leading medical and patient support organisations for allergy in Australia.

The CFAR will expand to become the **National Allergy Centre of Excellence** (NACE). NACE will generate and synthesise the evidence base that underpins the activities of the proposed National Allergy Council, to ensure that Australia remains at the forefront of evidence-based management of allergic disease.

Working together, these organisations will deliver:

- A shared care program to **significantly cut wait times** to see a specialist by at least 50 per cent and improve access to quality allergy care for all Australians, especially in rural and remote areas
- The digital infrastructure for a **National Allergy Registry and Biobank** to facilitate precision medicine, allowing individualised allergy healthcare for children and adults. This would include a live anaphylaxis reporting system
- A world-first National Allergy Clinical Trials Network to provide Australians with accelerated access to safe and effective allergy treatments.
- Continued **public health guidelines and prevention programs** such as the successful 'Nip allergies in the Bub' program, which includes practical resources for parents and educational resources to support healthcare providers.
- New clinical and research capabilities to enable Australia to maintain its world-leading status in allergy research and to answer the most important questions in allergy that will guide the way forward.

We greatly appreciate the support that the Australian Government has given for these critical initiatives. The National Allergy Strategy, ASCIA, A&AA and CFAR would like to thank:

- The Australian Government, and Minister Hunt in particular, for investing in the health and wellbeing of the many Australians living with allergic diseases.
- The Hon Trent Zimmerman MP (chair) and Dr Mike Freelander MP, (deputy chair) of the bipartisan Parliamentary Inquiry into Allergies and Anaphylaxis committee.
- Dr Katie Allen MP, member of the of the bipartisan Parliamentary Inquiry into Allergies and Anaphylaxis committee for her tireless work in advocating for those living with allergic disease
- The other Parliamentary Inquiry into Allergy and Anaphylaxis committee members Mr Tony Zappia MP, Mr Milton Dick MP, Ms Angie Bell MP, Mrs Lucy Wicks MP, Dr Fiona Martin MP and Ms Bridget Archer MP.