Vegan foods, tree nut, peanut or other legume allergy

Nuts

People with tree nut, peanut and other legume allergies should be aware that vegan food often contains these allergens. Vegan cheeses, milks, meals and snacks often contain peanuts, tree nuts and legumes.  It is important to always read food labels including ingredients and any precautionary allergen labelling statement before eating a packaged food. When ordering food at a restaurant or café your food allergy must be communicated on the order and to food service staff where possible (even via phone or app) because:

  • legally, not all ingredients need to be on a menu
  • even if the menu lists ingredients, they may not list all of them
  • the menu information might not be current
  • the chef may have run out of a particular tree nut, for example, and may use another.

For more information on eating out safely with food allergies, see our ‘Eating out with food allergies’ information.

For information on egg and milk in vegan foods go to our blog on this topic.

Acute Anaphylaxis CSS
Acute Anaphylaxis Clinical Care Standard - Learn more...
Atopic Dermatitis
allergy250K teens/young adults
Food allergy training

Our Supporters

Diamond


Viatris
Sanofi
Nestle
Allergy Concepts

Platinum


  • Bulla
  • NSW Food Authority
  • Novartis
  • Pfizer

Gold


  • dbv technologies
  • Mondelez
  • Nurticia
Silver

  • abbvie
  • Australian Camps Association
  • Bayer
  • Sanctuary Early Learning
  • Sweet William


© 2023 ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS AUSTRALIA
ABN: 70 693 242 620

 



ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS AUSTRALIA
is supported by funding from the
Australian Government,
Department of Health.


ALLERGY & ANAPHYLAXIS AUSTRALIA acknowledges and pays respect to the traditional custodians of the lands on which we work, live and play.